Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help with a new dob

I've just brought a revelation 12" dob and used it for the 1st yesterday and was looking at Jupiter but it looked the same as through my 127 mak,I wasn't expecting Hubble type views but considering there's a 7 " difference In aperture size I thought i would see a difference.

Having said that I've only had the mak for 10 months and still learning and I have no experience with a large dob, It could be down to the seeing conditions but I need tips and advice on getting the best out of it.

How long does it take for the mirror cool down and how much would that effect the views?

Collimating worries me and I can't tell if the mirrors a aligned even with the Cheshire eyepiece

The 127 mak has a very long focal length (F11,81), while Your 12" dob has a very short focal length (F5).

So magnification wise you will not see much difference between the 12inch dob and the 127 Mak with the same eyepiece.

Tho, With good colimation and decent seeing conditions you should see more details in Your 12inch dob.

Your 12inch dobsonion is a huge light bucket that excels at deepsky targets. It will blow away your 127 Mak. No contest.

At a guess the newtonian will be about f/4.8, this gives it a focal length of 1450-1500mm, basically the same as the Mak.

So with the same eyepieces you will get almost an identical magnification.

So in terms of size expect no difference.

The newtonian will collect more light so the object should be brighter, but in terms of size/magnification I would expect a similar result.

on average the Mak and dob will give similar views of Jupiter, although the disc will be a lot brighter at the same magnification in the dob. on nights of good seeing the detail will be substantially higher in the dob but you might have to wait for steadier spells. with my 12" f4 the views are only slightly better than my 6" f11 but when they are better the detail is jaw dropping. in fairness it is in both