NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Various Questions - Could be several forum sections

Hello

I was hoping for some advice on the upgrade options and use for my new first telescope.

I’ve just bought the Celestron Astromaster 130 EQ, I know that the is a beginners telescope and hopefully a reasonable entry level scope for its price but hoping to get the best from it through accessories over time. I’m new to the hobby but have a good photographic background so can understand most common things with a telescope as a telescope is like a camera with a very long lens.

My new scope was delivered on Monday and was set-up that evening, unfortunately cloud cover has meant I couldn't use it until I spotted a brief period of thinning cloud just after midnight last night. So I grabbed the telescope unable to Polar align as Polaris was still behind the clouds and got to view the moon and luckily enough Jupiter was just above and in that thin cloud.

So from my brief experience last night (early hours this morning) I found the following.

Trying to operate an EQ mount coming from a photographic background is going to take some getting used to, however once I found the subject tracking on the RA was great and very easy. Even without the proper polar alignment I only had to adjust the DEC every after three or four times the subject had crossed through the view finder.
The moon was extremely bright – moon filter to be discussed in a minute.
Jupiter nicely focused on the 20mm (32.5x) and the three moons visible on the 10mm (65x) with a hint of detail in Jupiter.

As I said I would like to try and get the best that this budget scope has to offer from it over time.