Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Moon transit on Jupiter's disc now

Moonshane

Hi Shane,

Well what the heck are you doing in doors posting about it, get back out observing :evil:  Only kidding. Way too tired tonight and the gap in the clouds is only likely to last a half hours, not the mention the fact that Jup has yet to clear next doors oak tree.

Ian

Hello!

I was out last night using my startravel 80 (EQ1), and I was having a good look at Jupiter with my 10mm eyepiece and I saw two moons very close together on the left bottom quater of jupiter ('left' through the eyepiece) from what I could work out I would have said the two close moons were Io and Ganymede and quite a bit further out on the opposite side was Europa. This was around 10pm. By 12am one of the moons had gone, would this be the transit you are talking about? Im new to all this and if you don't ask you'll never know! :)

Thank you

Jessica

Hello!

I was out last night using my startravel 80 (EQ1), and I was having a good look at Jupiter with my 10mm eyepiece and I saw two moons very close together on the left bottom quater of jupiter ('left' through the eyepiece) from what I could work out I would have said the two close moons were Io and Ganymede and quite a bit further out on the opposite side was Europa. This was around 10pm. By 12am one of the moons had gone, would this be the transit you are talking about? Im new to all this and if you don't ask you'll never know! :)

Thank you

Jessica

You could check your view against a planetarium programme like Stellarium (Its FREE!)- if you enter your location  and 'rewind' to the same time as you were viewing then zoom in on jupiter, it should give you the positions and names of the moons. I was out around 22.00 last night and saw a moon about half way across the disk of jupiter, just above one of the equatorial belts

Stephen