Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Low cost tracking mount?

nvchad2

The mount I currently have for my reflector telescope isn't motorised at all and because of this I can't really use it for photographing anything except our bright moon.

I was wondering if someone could help me find a new mount. My budget is only like $200 or $250, but I'm not looking for the best of anything. I just want to be able to track the sky for a few minutes at a time. I've tried searching around for mounts but everything is way more expensive than I can afford. And maybe my expectations are unrealistic, I just dont know. Im still really new to this stuff so I figured the experts here could weigh in on my options.

I've already got a DSLR and a webcam, I just have no way to use them really. Any input on my predicament would be greatly appreciated.

As you are in Virginia I doubt the Harrison offering is relevant. :grin: :grin: :grin:

What mount have you at present?

Wondering if it is equitorial and therefore can you attach motors.

The lowest cost I could see was a Celestron EQ mount at $269, BUT no motors, I would guess motors would be an additional $100 to $120. (Astronomics). The mount shown looks fairly solid, EQ5 like, so there may somewhere be the equivalent of an EQ3 elsewhere, these are less cost.

The alternative is to look round and wait for something on the used market. No idea how often they appear on the US market however I would expect they appear fairly often. I have no idea of any site in the US for used, but think there are a couple.

You can get an EQ2 from http://www.telescope.com $200, then fit an RA motor to allow some tracking.

The mount is not that solid and will only take a single motor - there is no option to fit a Dec drive.