NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Picked out scope, now what accessories?

Hi everyone?

I want to buy my husband a telescope for Christmas and I know *nothing* about them. I've been reading the beginners forum and have see several recommendations for http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian.html

1. Is this a good absolute beginner scope?

2. What accessories are absolutely needed to use this scope?

3. What accessories would be "nice" (but not absolutely necessary) to have? (I'd love to get him everything, but I don't have an unlimited budget. ;) )

4. Maybe a beginner book to go with the scope?

We live in West Yorkshire. He enjoy astrology programs, loves looking at the stars and learning about planets, comets, etc.

Thank you!

Hi Autumn, the scope comes with everything he will need to get started.  However, if you want to get a couple of extras I would recommend the following:

A Collimating eyepiece, this helps align the mirrors and is essential later on or if the telescope gets knocked about a bit (as in a car journey): http://www.firstlightoptics.com/other-collimation-tools/cheshire-collimating-eyepiece.html

I would also recommend the following book, Turn Left At Orion, a great book for beginners and experienced in deep sky astronomy:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Turn-Left-Orion-Hundreds-Telescope/dp/0521153972/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385374811&sr=8-1&keywords=turn+left+at+orion

Hope this helps.  All the best in your endeavour, and welcome to the forum btw!