NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Found Andromeda, more questions

I finally decided on a scope, an orion xt8, with a couple extra lenses.  I'm new with all this stuff though so bear with me.  I was looking tonight and read enough things to where I was able to find the Andromeda galaxy.  It was one of those, oh wow, so this is what it's like to look through a telescope moments.  It was unreal.  So anyways this may be an equipment question, not sure. I found it using a 38mm lens so I figured that once I put in my 13mm lens it would be even more impressive.  The view through the 13mm lens was actually worse than with the 38mm. Am I doing something wrong or is it best to view certain objects with lower powered lenses?  Any help would be much appreciated. Like I said, I'm a complete newbie but am very excited to learn the best ways to view objects.

Bryan

"is it best to view certain objects with lower powered lenses?"

The answer to that one is "Yes". Galaxies appear as faint smudges or what is known as "fuzzy blobs" that would be easy to miss at high powers. Planets on the other hand are very bright and will stand high magnification for some awesome detail. Because fuzzy blobs are so faint the only real thing that improves the view is extra aperture.

You would see detail in M31 (core, dust lanes, etc) with something like a 20"+ dobsonian. I saw it last year with such a scope and a 35mm wide angle eyepiece and it was phenomenal. Galaxies are big so wide angle and low powers are the way to go. Credit to you for finding it though Bryan - you're well on the way and the xt's are nice scopes. :)

Hi Bryan,

Congratulations on finding Andromeda, no mean feat when you are starting out :-).

You are not doing anything wrong at all, and your comment is correct, some objects are much larger than others and look better in lower power eyepieces.