Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Would anyone like a crack at my data? PLEASE!!

cthorpey

Hi Folks,

I am fairly new to imaging and could do with some help.

I have a SW 130p modified to allow my Canon 1100D to achieve prime focus and a HEQ5 Pro

The image below is the result of 30 x 45 sec ISO1600 lights and 5 darks stacked in DSS and "processed" in Startools.

I am wondering if there is any more I could get out of the data (ie I am really bad at processing) or is it a case of garbage in, garbage out?

1176265_10152164352694018_2144550113_n.jpg

I have attached the output from DSS and would very much appreciate someone else having a tinker with it.

Thanks in advance...

Chris

M31 DSS Output1.tif

Here you go.

M31_DSS_OutputOlly-X2.jpg

You need to kill the gradient by equalizing the background sky (EG Pixinsight's DBE or ABE or Gradient Xterminator.) Then hit it with some noise reduction selectively applied. At this point you can push local contrasts a bit and then stretch the brighter data.

I may be wrong but I think this data was non-linear, ie it had been partially stretched in DSS. This isn't a good idea. Longer subs would make all the difference.

Bear in mind that I did this very quickly, as in 5 minutes. It isn't a careful processing job.

There is no colour data in the image. What happened there? I don't use DSS so I don't know where it was lost.

Olly

http://ollypenrice.s...39556&k=FGgG233

5 Mins!!! WOW took me all afternoon

Not sure what I did to kill the colour, and I just aligned the RGB peaks in DSS.

I think my main problem is that I dont understand the terminology here.

When you say gradient am I right in thinking that you are referring to the whitish "box" that seems to be surrounding the galaxy in my image?

Apologies for the dumb questions!

A gradient is a drift in brightness across an image from one side or corner to the other. You are right that yours had a kind of 'box of brightness' around the object.