NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

i found jupiter lol

nerointegrale16v

hi everyone

had my telescope about a month now, total beginner.

am a little overwhelmed how complex the hobby is but are trying to learn

so woke up 3.00am after doing some homework last night where jupiter will be in gemini, so looked east found gemini pointed the telescope to what i thought was alhena but was gobsmacked, it was jupiter and 3 moons, clouds come over for 10mins then cleared again and observed 4 moons.

2 hours later still excited, wow

my first view of jupiter and a rewarding experience

have looked at the sun with baader solar sheet and saw sun spots but was thinking what should i aim for next ?? wheres my next logical step?

my stuff is skywatcher 200p newtonian reflector, EQ5, 32mm 2" ostara astro , 25, 10, 7.5, 6.5mm 1.25" and 2xbarlow and laser collimator and my wifes ipad with sky safari

regards martin

Well done Martin. I love the planets and Jupiter is always such a fine sight with lots of detail and plenty going on with the moons. The other main planets are not so good at the moment with Saturn very low in the evening and Mars low in the morning. It's just below Jupiter and still very small.

I suggest that you try some of the main deep sky objects. Orion is now up with and you should easily find the Orion Nebula just below the three stars of his belt as a starter.

Sky safari will help. The two main recommendations on here are always the book Turn Left at Orion which is a great guide to finding some fine objects, and Stellarium, which is a free to download planetarium software.

Also, if you stick with Jupiter, there is a great little app which shows what's happening with the moons at any point.

best of luck

Kerry