Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

150mm Refractor vs. 200mm Reflector?

Hello All

I am a newbie who started astronmy again earlier this year, and thinking of upgrading from a 80mm Refractor to either one of these. Which one would give better views in general? I used to hear "Apeture is king", then surely the 200mm reflector should give better views? However, I am more fond of the refractors as they do not need collimating and just, I don't know, they seem easier to operate.

But more importantly, 150mm refractors might give superior views in general, I feel. But I have never had one of these in my life, so I am not sure. Certainly the price seem a lot affordable for the 200mm reflectors unless I could find a used 150mm refractor, which might takes some time. Thanks for your advice.

Jay

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Visually, I would go for the 200mm reflector any day. A 150mm refractor that can compete with a 8" Newtonian needs to be an apochromatic one (ED or triplet), and that is going to cost a great deal of money. If you have that kind of money, a 16" newt could probably be bought as well (and be better visually on most counts). I had a 15cm F/8 Newtonian with small central obstruction. These are very close to the performance of a high quality refractor (they are sometimes referred to as APO-killers). Nevertheless, the 8" SCT I have now bests it visually (even on planets: it has a tad less contrast perhaps, but finer detail can be seen), despite its larger central obstruction. Central obstruction is not the bugbear people often believe it is. Chromatic aberration in fast achromatic refractors is worse for fine detail, I find.

I second that, and especially for deep-sky objects aperture is the only thing showing more... No matter how great a smaller refractor might be.

150/200/320mm comparison http://www.clarkvision.com/visastro/m51-apert/index.html (under good condition and long and careful observation)