Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Absolute newbie !

Moz

Had a pair of binoculars and now unsurprisingly bought a telescope...not arrived yet but can't wait..have gone for the skywatcher mak cass 127 with synscan a-z goto ..the question or questions I have are as follows .

Am I best to use a digital imager and registax to obtain half decent image of the planets or do I use a digital hd camera ( lumix tz) or do I take a series of stills with my Nikon dslr and use registax what would in the long run produce the best overall image ?

Saw a you tube vid of someone using registax and was impressed with the result given he was using a everyday webcam .

Look forward to you help.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Some people use DSLRs, but it's tricky. The pixel size is really a bit small for the 127 Mak unless you've got a very bright target, I reckon.

I started with an SPC900 webcam (actually a reflashed SPC880). If you can find one of these second hand for around the £50 mark I'd say it's the best way to go initially. Anything comparable is going to cost more. There are some lower end dedicated planetary cameras for around the £100 mark, but I've not used them so I really can't offer an opinion. It's also possible to mod some of the cheaper webcams. You won't get results like the SPC900, but they'll be recognisable images. Then there are the more expensive cameras that start around £200 and finish when the bank manager won't lend you any more cash :)

I use AutoStakkert!2 for stacking planetary images now, then just use Registax for the post-processing.

James

Thx for that ...I'll have look at those on line . What about the mid one I have a digiscope adaptor to attach my lumix tz10 which has hd vid and other formats depending on how you want to process would this be worth a punt ?

You could give it a go, but I'm not sure how well it would work. I've never done any afocal imaging, so I can't really offer much of an opinion I'm afraid.