Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Another sub £100 binocular advice thread

Ventolin

Hi all,

I have been looking for binoculars under £100 for a while now and have read and searched extensively in this forum and other sites on the net and am still having trouble deciding what to get.

I'm a newbie, don't have a scope, live in brightest London with very little room for a scope, so need to go to the park to do any real viewing, so ideally would like a handheld, occasionally will use it for daytime use while hiking. I'm also on a tight budget, so the very cheapest bins are very attractive, but I'm also seem to be fussy about quality.

Here's my shortlist (all 10x50 porro prisms):

Lidl 10x50 - £17 (bought these a few days ago, but quality must have dropped from previous years and I have to take them back)

7Dayshop 10x50 sport series - £21

Meade 10x50 special offer - £39

Strathspey 10x50 General Purpose - £45

Helios Fieldmaster 10x50 - £47

Olympus 10x50 DPS-1 - £53

Helios Weathermaster III 10x50 - £59

Helios Naturesport Plus 10x50 - £79

Strathspey 10x50 Waterproof - £100

(have I missed any?)

Current top of that shortlist is the Helios Naturesport Plus, but I am very tempted at the cheap end of the scale.

I'm wondering where the best value for money point is - i.e. at what point does the step up in quality become less noticeable as the price goes up? Sounds like there's a graph of quality vs price for this kind of thing.

As far as I can search, I have not been able to find direct comparisons of these bins apart from maybe the skyatnight website, but I guess what I'm really asking is if the Naturesport Plus is much better than the Fieldmaster (for instance) to justify the price?

I've read positive reviews from members here who have the above bins, so it's difficult to decide.

I have also thought about getting the Celestron Travelscope 70 at £54 from Currys, but feel this might be too cheap and a waste of money.