Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which scope to buy with group use in mind?

Hi,

I've got a budget of £350-375 and want to purchase a GoTo telescope that I can use with others (kids and other family members). I'm new to this and I currently don't know how to star hop and/or locate non-obvious targets in the night sky. We'll be driving to darkish sky sites outside of Glasgow and we'd like to be able to set the scope up quickly, find objects easily and share the views with one another.

I've been doing quite a lot of reading about the subject and have narrowed it down to the Celestron Nexstar 130 or 127 SLT. I'm also aware of the 4se and its better mounting system but I think I'm unsure if it's worth sacrificing aperture for the sake of a better mount and slightly better internal optics.

I'm leaning more towards the 130 SLT as it seems to be slightly more versatile and will allow us all to see deeper objects slightly better, whereas the 127 will, out of the box and without buying new eye pieces, show crisper and closer views of the moon, Jupiter and Saturn compared to the 130.

How different will the views of the planets and moon be between the 127 Mak be compared to the 130 Newtonian Reflector? Will I need to purchase a better quality eye piece to get closer views of the moon and planets with the 130 SLT? Also, how long will the 127 Mak take to cool down to provide optimal viewing?

Appreciate any help or comments.

ps I'll be using the scope most of the time on my own, but I need to bear in mind that the kids and other inexperienced adults will want to use it and we have a small amount of time to make the most of our viewing, hence the desire for a GoTo telescope.

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

In no particular order: