Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginners advice please

Hi,

I am brand new to star gazing, it started with a second hand £5 kids scope and now I'm thinking of upgrading!

I also do a bit of plane/bird watching. I have read that a good pair of binos is a good place to start, could anyone recommend where to start with these?

I obviously have been looking at scopes as well and am not sure what to go for but have narrowed my choice to a meade starnavigator 102mm aperture goto scope for £300. Is this good value.

I have order Patrick Moore star gazing book on amazon to help in the mean time.

Many thanks

Martin

If the binoculars are to be used for bird and plane watching then get the standard set of 8x42's. They are pretty good all round and are also useful when pointed skyward.

There are bigger, not sure about better, and if you go for the 15x70's then you need a tripod for them.

Neither of the above will show details on things like Jupiter, you need a scope for that.

And the more you spend on binoculars the less you have for a scope or the longer you have to wait to get a scope.

Never sure what to advise for a first scope, and you will get several suggestions.

I do not know the starnavigator, but will say beware of gimicks on some of them these days.

If you can locate a club within reach pay them a visit and see what is used by the people there, that is always a good guide to a scope or type of scope. The last public event I attended all but 2 scopes were smallish, 5" or 6", Maks or SCT (goto's), not a reflector present which seemed odd.

have narrowed my choice to a meade starnavigator 102mm aperture goto scope for £300. Is this good value.

I have to be honest and say NO. This is not value for money. I know it's going to be your first scope but for £300, you can do a lot better. A very popular choice for a first scope is something like this:

http://www.firstligh...-dobsonian.html