Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie here, please aid me decide on a scope

Hi there,

I have some question and hope you can help me. I am just starting out, and firstly want to get something modest to use and then if I really love it to upgrade.

I only have around £200-300 for a first scope. My main urge at present is to view planets and hopefully one or two brighter DSOs. I would also like to be able to progress to modest AP, planets etc.

So, from what I have read so far, I am drawn to refractors or hybrids, mainly due to less maintenance and the sharpness of refractors.

Would starting with a simple refractor like an Evostar 90 on an alt-az mount be a decent start? I would like to be able to view and image the moon from the off with a smartphone if possible. Later on, if I want to pursue the hobby and be able to do AP I could upgrade the mount, then scope to something better.

what would you suggest? you may think a slightly better set-up from the off which can be ugraded?

Also, I was thinking that if I wish to view the moon and planets and not wish to manually keep it in frame every few seconds, would I be better starting with a mount that can take motors?

Such as: http://www.wexphotographic.com/buy-sky-watcher-evostar-90-eq3-2-refractor-telescope/p10585#details

I assume this will then track the object? (i must admit to some confusion on this as I see there are 'autoguiders' which I thought was accomplished via an EQ mount on motors?

Many thanks for help.

Best

Dan