Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi. I am now the proud owner of a Skywatcher 130P telescope. I've set it up and got a nice clear night last night and managed to see the moon (obviously) and also the star/planet to the left of it with 3 other stars/moons next to it. (I am obviously a newbie, I think it could be Mercury or Venus??) :huh:

Anyway, when I turn the mount, it will only go so far and then the bolt holding it in place starts to come undone. Have I not set the mount up correctly or should there only be a certain distance the mount can turn? I can spin it manually but then it seems to become a little spring loaded and turns back on itself.

I hope this makes sense, forgive me, I am a complete beginner!!

Hello Fred.

You're still at the exciting stage where everything is still to be discovered. What you saw next to the Moon was Jupiter with three of its moons. As far as your mount is concerned, I tjink the up and down motion has a limited amount of spring loaded control. You need to undo a thumbscrew , move the scope to where you want to be, lock the thumbscrew again and then operate the control rod. :smiley:

A bit off topic but why can't I see anything through the eye piece in daylight?

What are you looking at (not the Sun of course !!!) ?

The view would be upside down as all newtonian scopes show it. You won't be able to focus on things that are closer than around 100 feet as the scope is designed for astro objects.

Hi. I am now the proud owner of a Skywatcher 130P telescope. I've set it up and got a nice clear night last night and managed to see the moon (obviously) and also the star/planet to the left of it with 3 other stars/moons next to it. (I am obviously a newbie, I think it could be Mercury or Venus??) :huh: