Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Any Thoughts on Synthetic Flats

broadsword

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to imaging, using a fairly basic set up, and whilst I'm fairly pleased with results so far I've been struggling with image processing due to the combined effects of vignetting, heavy LP, and not using flats. I know I'll have to succumb to the flats at some point, but at the moment with clear skies on work days I don't see daylight/twilight and I haven't rigged up a lighbox or anything.

Whilst surfing through Googled DSLR images I noticed one which mentioned the use of synthtic flats. I found a tutorial on doing this (basicially involving using the liight image itself as the flat after having blurred out and averaging all of the detail) and found a way of doing it in GIMP. So far it has produced some impressive results on star clusters, less good/useless with large objects like M33, but I suspect it might be viewed as heretical in some quarters.

Any thoughts? If there's much interest I'll post a couple of images with/without the synthetic flat.

An idea I had but could be nonsense... So after finishing the image (and before doing the darks), T-shirt over the front of the scope and hold up my iPad with a totally white screen up to the front of scope (touching the cloth of T-Shirt).

Fire off half a dozen 2 sec exposures.

Would that do the business?

Only issue with this plan is it would wreck night vision :embarrassed:

Rgds, Steve

Gina,

Being a beginner, I haven't a clue how these synthetic flats can help with vignetting, but in practice I find that, by removing a lot of the light pollution in the centre of the light image I avoid lots of harsh level/curves stretching which quickly lose the details in the dark corners otherwise. I know that synthetic flats can't do anything for dust motes.

Steve,