NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Where have i gone wrong?

Hi guys

i shot M32 the other night 40x3min, Bias, Flats & Darks, i have processed in deep sky stacker & nebulosity with similar results at the end of both.

I have improved my collimation since and im still learning to focus using CCD data rather then just my bant mask so i think focus can be improved on as well but despite these i was expecting to see a bit more detail.

I am still getting used to using the CCD so i don't know if the lack of detail is due to either lack of data, my processing skills or something else.

Please help

post-9689-0-11109700-1352417354_thumb.jp

Hi Mav,

My guess would be that you are imaging with the 9.25 at F10? If so this is quite a slow f ratio and difficult to get the detail from M31, as other than the core it can be a faint object. Have you tried using a focal reducer. Sorry if i'm wrong!!

Already using the focal reducer F6.3, ive had shots of orion using a DSLR before and i was able to pick up the nebula cloud so it could be that im using the CCD wrong but i dont know. There wasn't nearly as much data in this shot.

Is M32 harder to shot then M42?

LP is never great in my area, maybe this night was just worse.

Just to add i captured the data using nebulosity, dont know if that makes a difference.

post-9689-0-66392200-1352420926_thumb.jp

Hi guys

i shot M32 the other night 40x3min, Bias, Flats & Darks, i have processed in deep sky stacker & nebulosity with similar results at the end of both.

I have improved my collimation since and im still learning to focus using CCD data rather then just my bant mask so i think focus can be improved on as well but despite these i was expecting to see a bit more detail.

I am still getting used to using the CCD so i don't know if the lack of detail is due to either lack of data, my processing skills or something else.

Please help