Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Cameras to use on their own for night sky imaging.

Mr_Si

Hi All,

I've been wanting to do this for ages now, due to frustration with my compact camera etc, but I want to upgrade from a compact camera to a DSLR so I can start getting photos of the night sky, but also getting a camera to take a photo when I tell it to, not 3 seconds later (as per my Nickon Coolpix P5100).

I'm not sure whether to stick with Nikon or to move over to Canon or another brand. I heard somewhere that canon seem to be the most supported DSLR cameras when it comes to use with the night sky and software and users in general.

I will be going 2nd hand to hopefully get more for my money.

Basically, what would be a good DSLR to get to start taking photos of the stars and moon etc without necessarily using a telescope?

I currently only use 10x50 Bins to look up in the sky, mainly at the moon, as I am still new to star gazing and still learning the sky's layout.

I also want to just get a better camera for normal use, so to combine the 2 would be great.

Many thanks,

Simon

P.s. Sorry, you've probably had question SO MANY TIMES before!

i am thinking of getting the Canon 1000d or the 1100d. there are lots of compatible lens that can be used for various types of pictures. for moon shots you would need a 300mm lens i would say, because im looking for the same thing to do. also with them cameras, i am wanting to do long exposure shots of constellations and them two cameras will do the job. also they would be great for normal shooting like macro and just basic photography. hope this helps.