Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My 1st amateur SPC900 long exposure

davesparx

I know that it's not that good but I'm really proud of this. It's M51 on my long exposure SPC900. I've never done this before. I used a skywatcher 200P with QHY5 finder/guider and used a focal reducer on the SPC900 (0.8x). I've stacked the image but it still looks really blurry.

Please can anyone tell me why it's so blurry?

Many thanks,

Davidpost-19599-0-13172600-1345381569_thumb.j

That's a very nice shot for a first go. Puts mine to shame: http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/156974-my-first-ever-dso-images/

I reckon you might still have a bit of drifting in the guiding. If you look at the stars they look a bit oddly shaped, and they're all oddly shaped in the same way. I agree that it's a smidge out of focus, too. You don't say if you used any darks, but they might help pull out some of the noise if you didn't. You also have some stacking artefacts around the edges of the frame. If you crop those off you may find that you can reduce the black point further which may give a bit more contrast?

James

Thanks ever so much. I see what you mean. If I actually crop the image to the point where I can reduce the artifacts, it makes it a better stack?

Thanks to everyone who thinks it's ok. It was an 098BQ CCD as well. I have an 098BL that I'm going to give a first light to, later :-)

Thanks ever so much. I see what you mean. If I actually crop the image to the point where I can reduce the artifacts, it makes it a better stack?