Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

APT questions from total newbie

kirkster501

Hello guys,

Got my camera - canon 1100d hooked up to APT and my ED80 scope and checking into it all with dummy set-ups in the living room but have a few questions and would really appreciate your input on:

1. No serial cable required between camera and PC? I think it can all be done through the USB cable but would appreciate confirmation? Certainly the dummy plans I have created *seem* to work....

2. I don't understand the focus tool.... How can it focus without attaching to the telescope focuser in some way? Since the camera is at prime focus of the ED80 the only way to get focus is by the scopes own focuser right? So how do I use the tool to help get focused? And when focus is achieved on a star or something, is everything from then on "in focus" until the focus is disturbed?

3. it says mirror flip up is automatic with the Digik4? Not sure I understand this. I get ye reasons for mirror flip up per-se but why is this auto with the later cameras and why should I care?

4. connect to scope option. Why would i want this software to connect to the scope? Surely there must be reasons for this that my newbie brain does not yet understand... :)

Thanks, Steve

WIth my 450D I only needed a USB connection, so I'd assume your 1100D should be the same. I have a nagging feeling that the serial connection is for older cameras that couldn't have the shutter operated over USB.

I think the focus tool is to allow you to get some sort of measurement of how well focused an image is, not to focus for you.

James

Ok thanks James for answering all my questions ! I am totally new to this and don't know anyone in my neighborhood to ask these questions. A little bit of a pointer and I can suss it out for myself thanks to you and others for the pointers ! :)

No need for a serial cable with the 1100D.