Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first ever stargazing experience

Tlawrence84

WOW! What a sense of achievement you get when you find something. Even if it is as trivial as the below.

As a complete novice, I won't into my back garden today armed with an iPad and my celestron 15x70 bino's. Now I know this may make some more experienced people laugh, but I managed to locate the kite with a tail (not sure of its name, it's just left of The star Alltair), I then followed that down to 3 stars between m15 and m2, and down further from that to find a diamon sshape at the top of aquarius. All with the naked eye, then I hit a snag.

I was aiming for Neptune (possible with my bino's?), well I could see the patterns with the naked eye, but add the bio's, and I lose all sense of scale! A hundred stars suddenly appear that I couldn't see before, does the diamond pattern that I could just see fit in the field of view of my binoculars? How do I know I'm looking at he same thing through these lenses that I was just looking at without them? These are all question I hope to answer now that I have some clear skies to look at.

I had to come here and post something, because I now feel like I'm not 'lost', I'm beginning to understand the (very) basics. I have to apologise for my descriptions, I'm using an iPad app called "sky map" which does name every pattern or group. I was a little dissointed that I couldn't catch Neptune, but it was sitting right where the town lights became too bright to see even stars.

Looking forward to plotting the sky a bit better over the coming nights

As others will no doubt confirm you will need a better star map. Stellarium can be downloaded which will give you a start but I would also recommend getting the pocket sky atlas which is pretty cheap and great for use with thise 15 x 70's..

Do you have a tripod as it can help with moving around the stars to fix the bins on a position and then refer to the star atlas and go back etc...