NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

goto upgrade ?

Hi ive been stargazing for about 4 months now , ive also persuaded a friend to join in . After giving it a good go manualy and finding our way around my friend has upgraded his eq5 mount with a goto motor , i now feel like its the way forward for me aswell but im very happy with my orion xt8 . Ive seen on orions website an updated version of my scope , still a dob but fitted with a goto motor , so my question is will i be able to fit the same motor on my scope ? Or does anybody know a way to make mine a goto with the same mount ? i will be gratefull for any help or advice as im lost with all the different equipment and upgrades in astronomy.

Thanks

Don't do it mate - 4 months is nothing in this hobby -learn the skies it might be frustrating to begin with but this is a long term hobby - you'll get out of it what you put in and the thrill of finding things for yourself must be half the whole point of it

Push button, next, Push button Next - I'm very cynical with this and I know its not for everyone so don't want to upset the Go To fans here - if it works for you and its what you want then great. But for me the challenge is what keeps me coming back not the small fuzzies that you eventually get to see.

Don't do it mate - 4 months is nothing in this hobby -learn the skies it might be frustrating to begin with but this is a long term hobby - you'll get out of it what you put in and the thrill of finding things for yourself must be half the whole point of it

Push button, next, Push button Next - I'm very cynical with this and I know its not for everyone so don't want to upset the Go To fans here - if it works for you and its what you want then great. But for me the challenge is what keeps me coming back not the small fuzzies that you eventually get to see.

...and I prefer looking at (and imaging) things rather than trying to find them! That's a matter of personal preference.