Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I Think I'm Getting The Hang of This

webboid

I am a relative beginner at astronomy but extremely keen, although struggling to navigate the immense sky above me. I bought an Explorer 200P a few months ago. Reasonable light pollution around my back garden but at the moment I can see to about mag 4.5 by eye.

I have invested in a home made light protection shroud because of all the ambient light from neighbours around me. This consists of 4 garden fence posts, mounted on spikes giving a 3mx3m area inside. This I have attached tarpaulins about 2.4m high all around. This manages to block all the neighbours lights & security spots. I loose a bit of the lower sky but this is mostly light polluted anyway. I have also flocked my scope using flockboard which I believe has made a difference.

So on to last nights session. I started off around 10pm having a good look at the moon with my new eyepiece (Meade 18mm 5000 HD-60) & I must say the sharpness of detail was so much better than the standard eye pieces. Despite using a lunar filter & mostly viewing near the shadow I had to abandon viewing as it was a bit uncomfortable. Next I had a look at Saturn again, which I find most captivating. I could just make out 2 or 3 of it's moons. I could also make out some details on the surface but no cassini with the 10mm standard eye piece.