Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

first go at m27

cal1985

hi all, this is my first try at m27, it was 5min subs x 15 with 8 darks. taken throught a skywatcher 130/900 and canon 300d unmodified, guided with a skywatcher synguider through a celestrion 80 please can you comment on processing and any advice or tips you would make.. the more critism the better ! i want to learn more and have images that alot of you get... but need to learn first !

many thanks cal

post-13507-0-96669900-1340827184_thumb.j

Very good for a first go Cal :grin:

Flats won't help with the noise much but they will help to get rid of the vignetting & the defects you can see.

Take loads of lights, as many as you can get and this will cut down your noise significantly. Taking darks will further improve the noise but it's diminishing returns and always debatable how many to take; 20 or so would do the trick.

I think that's a great first effort. 5min guided subs on an EQ2 at 900mm focal length. Hat's off :)

As previous, lots more subs and darks and sets of flats and bias would help make the processing easier. The colour is good though and you can see some retained in the stars as well which not always easy with a DSLR. A Bhatinov mask would help nail the focus as well, although it looks pretty good already.

Keep at it :)

Yes, well done. More subs, darks and flats... The best tool for sorting the background is DBE in Pixinsight.

But if you use Photoshop there's the plug in called Gradient Xterminator which would help with your background sky.

Olly

Well done for the first shot!

You definitely need flats to remove dough-nuts. I'd also suggest to work more on focus. Perhaps guiding 5 minutes is a bit too much for a start and for such a bright object.

For post-processing you may pay more attention to background. As Olly suggested PixInsight is a great friend of all beginners here. This may be you best AP investment along with Bahtinov mask.