Need a new eyepiece

Hi,

I'm new to this forum so I'm really sorry if you get bombarded with questions simillar to these a lot. I got my Dob skywatcher 200P at Christmas and I really do love it more than I can describe! However, I would like to see the planets in more detail-currently I can only make out Jupiter's moons and the other planets appear as bright dots through my eyepiece.

Unfortunately being a GCSE student my budget is rather limited, however it was my birthday the other week which I recieved £100 in total from all my relatives which I want to spend on a decent eye piece otherwise I'll just waste it ;)

Thanks.

Will agree about the BST's, may be sold as StarGuider's (they had to have a name change). People have used them in 200P's and they seem to be good and work well.

If the scope is f/6 the 8mm will be good giving 150x. The 5mm offering will give 240x and you may not use it too often. Depends on the collimation of the scope and the atmospheric conditions.

Eyepieces are always a problem, you simply may not like the same as others. Factors like eye relief come into it.

By budget (and mentioned here on SGL) you have:

Vixen NPL's Plossl's at £30

TMB Planetary's at £36

BST/StarGuider's at £47

Celestron X-Cels at £69

Hello Aims , what eyepieces have you already got ? I got a 25mm and a 10mm with my 200p dob.Can you see Jupiter itself ? The planets should be seen better than dots . I agree with buying new eyepieces and I'm not yet experienced enough to recommend any but I'm just concerned about your description. , if indeed you can only see dots is your finder lined up correctly ?

Hi Aims.. & welcome to the forum

The 8mm BST would be my idea of a good planetary eyepiece for a manual Dob...& the 18mm or 25mm BST for DSO's... Total price inc. postage..£94

• 3 months later...