Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Simple terms explanation please

steelfixer

Hi all.

I need something explained but in simple terms as I am in no way photographicaly minded.

In my simple understanding of things the ISO number related to the amount of light allowed into the camera.

Now, as there are no lenses used for DSO work so there for no means for the cemera to reduce the amount of light coming in does the ISO setting matter.

I am using a canon 350 D.

Please remember to keep it simple.

Thanks

Graham

If I'm correct the ISO rating isn't how much light is allowed through the lens ( that's the " f " number ) the ISO number was how light sensative the camera " FILM " was, now on a digital camera I assume its how the ccd chip reacts to the light reaching it.

I'm no expert so I stand to be corrected.

Ian

With regards to ISO, DSLR's and AP, the general thought is that you get your ISO as high as you can without detriment to your images. You want to catch as much light as possible in AP as this will mean that the more light you get on your sensor, the more detail you will have in your image.

I used 800 ISO on my 1000D, if I went higher, it would introduce a lot of noise that I couldn't deal with, and so it's a bit of a compromise really.

Have a play with your camera, take an image at 100 ISO, 400 ISO and 800 ISO and you will be able to see the effect of additional light hitting the sensor as well as the additional noise that creaps in at higher ISO's. You can then decide which is best for you.

You may find for your 350D that 400 ISO is best, as I understand that the older camera's are not good at the higher ISO's.

Hope that helps.

If you are shooting through a telescope (which now becomes the cameras' lens) you have a fixed aperture (f number). To control the amount of light reaching the sensor you can adjust the shutter speed or alter the ISO. Changing the shutter speed is a better option than altering the ISO.

Peter

Peter