NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

A very daft question from Denni's other half..

Afternoon everyone,

apologies, but I am posting on Denni's username as I'm sure we don't need 2 users on the same forum.

He is currently away and I was trying out his telescope the other night as it was very clear and you could see a lot with the naked eye.

He has a 127 Skywatcher Mak scope with the electronic mount.

Anyway I digress. I couldn't use the electronic thing as there was no batteries and I don't know where the portable station thing is so I positioned the scope looking at the moon, put the little scope thing on so I could see the moon in the middle of it (It is a ****** trying to move the scope without power!) I then put the 25 mm lens thing in looked through the scope and I couldn't see anything!

I have never used a telescope before but looking at the eyepiece things, I am sure there is no other way they can go. I must be doing something basically wrong because surely if the little scope has the moon in view I should be able to see the moon? When I say I can see nothing, I mean absolutely nothing at ll. No hazy lights nothing and before someone asks, yes I did take the big lens cap off the end of the scope!! I fiddled with the little black knob on the side which I was assuming was some sort of focusing thing?

I tried the other lenses he has, a 10mm one and another one labelled Barlow 2 x.

Anyway, a long winded explanation of what I was trying to do without success. Can anyone please help me at all? Denni is away in the Arctic circle climbing so I can't ask him. If it is of any use, I could post a picture of how I put the lenses into the scope.

Sorry for such a stupid question but if you don't know, don't be afraid to ask!

Many thanks for taking time to read this. Anna x

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply