Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M42

paulk

Thanks folks :p

I think it was only 9 lights, ISO800 200 seconds and a few darks. The neighbours lights were lighting up everything so I was just playing around with PHD really. The scope is a SW 80-ED Pro and it's on an EQ5 Pro.

I'll give it a proper try soon as I have my PHD settings fairly sorted out now, that was a mission in it's own right!

Keep the encouragement coming!!!

Paul, can I pick your brains about your guiding? I'm also trying to guide using the finder on my 80ED Pro, a SPC900NC and PHD but am really struggling for some reason. All I get on PHD is white noisy fuzz (thinking perhaps it is a driver problem). How have you attached the camera? I went for the home made foam option. Also, where is the focal point for you?

Thanks - and sorry for a mini thread hijack.

That's exactly how I'm doing it too. I use the auto setting for the webcam in PHD most of the time and black and white. I have two finders now so I have the one I use for the guiding set up just for the webcam, I focused in sharpcap the best I could and it seems OK.

The focal point is roughly the same as it would be with the finder centred with the scope. I have bodged a plumbing reducer as an adaptor that works really well.

Hope that helps, let me know if you want pics or anything.

That's exactly how I'm doing it too. I use the auto setting for the webcam in PHD most of the time and black and white. I have two finders now so I have the one I use for the guiding set up just for the webcam, I focused in sharpcap the best I could and it seems OK.

The focal point is roughly the same as it would be with the finder centred with the scope. I have bodged a plumbing reducer as an adaptor that works really well.

Hope that helps, let me know if you want pics or anything.