Advice on bino's for a beginner

Hi all,

im a total noob.

I can pick out orion's belt, the plough & polaris, other than that, im lost!!!

Ive read some of the threads about beginners not rushing in to get a telescope & ive headed that advice. Im looking at a set of bino's & since i have no knowledge or skillset in this area - you guys are my crutch!

Im looking at:

olympus 10x50 DPS1

celestron 15x70 skymaster (im a big unit so holding them up shouldnt be a problem...if that proves to be a statement contrary to advice, i'll buy a stand!)

or from left field:

celestron astronomaster 114EQ

skywatcher skyhawk 114/1000EQ

Any advice would be greatfully received.

Cheers & hope to catch up soon

Andy

I should spend a little time with bins and learn how to navigate your way through the Constellations, you may have already been pointed in the direction of the free program Stellarium and the publication "Turn Left at Orion. During the interim period your knowledge will improve to the point that your next step in choosing a scope will be made that much easier. The 15x70 bins are good value and although It is appreciated that you are of a strong build, I think you will find that some sort of support for them will be desirable in the long run, even if its only the yard broom :D

even if its only the yard broom :D

Absolute genius, why didn't I think of that!

Hi Andy, I do like my 70mm bins but they can be a handful to keep still with your neck craned back.

I have an old camera tripod I use with a binocular mount