Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

my first expeience of star gazing with a Skywatcher P200 Dobs

There seems to be a lot of us taking up this hobby with the scope I have or its variant cousins so I just thought I'd give my honest experience with it from a complete newbies point of view in case it helps anyone else thinking of buying a new scope and pretty much starting from scratch as I have.

First of all - the wife hasn't shouted at me due to the size of the thing - it is fairly large perhaps 4ft tall and 8 Inches accross but easily stored. Putting it together was easy - everything you need is there including the tools and setting it up could not be simpler even for a complete novice like me.

So first chance to use it and - of course its cloudy so I used the time to align the spotting scope- here was my first problem - the main scope would focus on a garage 50 metres away but a farm house half a mile away- no chance - I spent ages with different lens and focussing nothing worked so eventually semi resigned to calling FLO I gave up - then after posting on the forum John explained that the Skyliner scopes have two convertors to accomodate 1.25 and 2 Inch lenses you can use one or the other but not stack them which I had done- tried again feeling a complete idiot and focussed on the farm house and alligned first time - easy when you know.