NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Scope/Mount for deep sky + maybe pics

I've been observing for a few years with my trusty SW 150p + EQ mount plus a hodge podge of lenses (mostly 2nd hand purchases).

I have recently started thinking about imaging and perhaps focusing more on DSO's.

I was wondering about what would be a good set up for a reasonable outlay. I was leaning towards the SW 10inch f4 quatro but have been warned that they're probably aimed more at experienced astrophotographers.

Therefore I thought I'd ask the question to you all.

I like the look of the SW Evostar 120ED-DS but am unsure of the best mount for this scope or even if I'm barking up the wrong tree all together with an f7 APO.

The only reason I've been SW biased is that I've been very happy with my current scope for some time but I'm happy to switch on a strong recommendation from someone in the know.

I'm not aiming fro pro- pics right now i just want to get started and have a scope for good DSO observing. :(

Yeah if I get a SW 120ED I'll be going with the SW mount. Wasn't sure how heavy duty it needed to be NEQ-5 or NEQ6?? I'm used to a Newt which is big-ish but lacking the glass lenses- relatively light. I know fracs can be heavy so I'm not sure about the mount requirements.

I have a Skywatcher ED120 Pro F/7.5 refractor which I use for visual observing as I'm not an imager. It's not that heavy at around 6kg including a 2" diagonal and 9x50 finder. For visual use an EQ5 / CG5 is fine but I guess for imaging you will need something more substantial.

you'll get comparable views of DSO's through the 120 as through your existing Newt I'd think... maybe a bit clearer, but not much brighter.

With a reducer/flattener in there it'd make a very nice imaging scope.

The trouble you'll have is that a good scope for observing DSO's wont really be the same as a good scope for imaging DSO's.