Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tight Budget Scope and Camera options?

Hello,

I am very new to this, and so far have 10x50 bins to start off on my voyage beyond the atmosphere. I want to buy a scope which will get me heading in the right direction. I've read about as much as any one person can in a few days on here and on the rest of the web, but I'm struggling to decide so need a bit of help please.

I have, as above the 10x50's, I also have a Canon 300d (not the rebel) DSLR which I can use with a reletive amount of skill for shooting terestrial objects both still and moving. I'd like to be able to do some form of AP but would I be better with the camera I have, or buying a webcam? If I am better off with a webcam, which one would be best to start off with?

Scope: I am thinking Newtonian Reflector with a mount/tripod. I'm thinking 130ish, is this a size that will give me enough to learn with and slightly beyond, or would I be better spending a similar amount on a second hand set up of a bit larger size? I've been looking at the CELESTRON ASTROMASTER 130 so that gives an idea of my budget (quite small I know). What can I reasonably expect to see and photograph with the above or something second hand of a similar price range? A DOB is not something I've considered due to not having anything suitable to mount it on.

You might want to consider starting with a camera (your 300D) and a camera lens on a small EQ mount (EQ2/3 with a simple RA drive would do) and image some wide field DSO stuff.

Then you can decide when to move up to imaging with a scope - a coompletely different ball game $$$$$$

I think you should forget tracked DSLR astrophotography for now. It needs a good equatorial mount, a HEQ5 is consider the minimum requirement. If you want to do a bit of astrophotography, you can try doing some star trail for now.