Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Parabolic or not?

Comparing the Sky-Watcher 130 and its brother the 130P.

The 130P whilst being more expensive and coming with fewer accessories boasts a Parabolic Primary Mirror.

Does this addition warrant the sixty or so pounds extra it's price tag demands, and what differance, if any, will I notice as a beginner in image quality.

Cheers

Craig

Hi Craig,

Spherical mirrors are much cheaper to manufacture, however they tend to produce less sharp images, however I can't tell you how noticeable this would be on the relatively small aperture of a 130mm. I think it's more of an issue on larger apertures, but I have no experience of this to relate!

I don't know the maths but I understand the parabolic mirror focuses the light better at a single point across all wavelengths. I guess that's what we are all trying to acheive with optics when we upgrade scopes and eyepieces. Depends what price we're prepared to put on it really.

Personally - I would pay the difference - but not on a 130 - maybe a 150 and upwards I would :D

Whether a mirror can get away with being spherical or needs to be parabolic is linked to the aperture and focal ratio.

The faster the optical system the more the effects of spherical aberration are noticed.

As aperture increases the longer the focal ratio of a spherical mirror has to be to avoid Spherical aberration.

At 5" aperture I believe focal ratio needs to be around f/10 to avoid the effects.

I personally would always avoid a spherical mirror if possible.

Regards Steve

A six inch mirror of sufficient focal length, may perform quite well with a sperical mirror. However, ythe shorter the focal length, or in other words the faster the mirror with regard to Imaging, the mirror must figured into a paraboloid, otherwise it will not be capable of bring all the light rays from an object at infinity to a true focus if left as a sphere.