NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Questions about dew and Mak maintenance

Hello,

I just tried to go outside and have look around Lyra after reading about the Ring nebula. I placed my telescope outside about an hour and a half earlier to get it to temperature. It has been foggy and overcast the last few nights, but tonight I can see the stars. When I went out to have a look, I noticed that the scope had a little dew on the outside. The lens caps were on, so the lenses were dry. As I have a dew shield, and being a beginner, I thought I'd see if I could find anything. Unfortunately, my finder scope soon fogged up so that I could only see Vega. Looking through the main scope was much clearer, but I started to see halos around Vega after a few minutes. That's when I called it a night.

My questions are the following:

Should I not have tried to go out tonight with the recent humidity?

Should I have let the scope equilibrate longer?

How can I better fight dew build- up?

What should I do in terms of drying and cleaning the scope and when should I reafix the lens caps?

Thanks a lot,

Rob

---

I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=46.134476,6.213675

answers to your questions:

first of all you realy need a due heater and winter isnt even hear yet!

you get the condensation due to warm tube/collector meeting cold air condensating. to get through the night use your missis/yours lol hair dryer on a lw setting dont get to close to your scope though and just blow it over the glass and your finder to will work fine. keep it with you all night. hope this helps

Thanks a lot. So a hair drier is a standard piece of equipment? It seems like the noise would break up the nice peaceful feeling I get when I'm outside at night. Oh well, if it has to be done. I hope my neighbors don't mind.

Thanks again,

Rob