Help: I am a beginner!

Hi, this is my first post, and well i hope i do not displease any members :D

I am looking to invest in my first telescope.(i have looked at some other threads on this, but i have a few more questions).

I am looking for a telescope that will allow me to observe a lot of things in the sky (Bright or dim), and last me for a while. I have looked around and had a look at the different types of telescopes and so on. I would like to know what kind of telescope I should be looking at and how much visual quality it will provide. I was looking at reflector telescopes as these appear to have bigger apperatures (and therefore take in more light and will allow me to see objects that are dimmer or see them clearer?). Any advice? For example, what kind of pleasure will a 4.5" Reflector provide? Thanks for reading. Please don't burn me. :D

EDIT: I am looking at the £150 area.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

In general, if you are not planning to do photography, you get the most bang for the buck out of a Dobsonian. Get the largest aperture you can afford, and realize that you will spend more, later on things like eyepieces, filters, finderscopes, books, charts, torches and other odds and ends. I know an astronomer who uses a 6" Skywatcher Dob, and has used it for several years. He also has Pentax eyepieces, which make a great difference to his views, and probably each cost as much as his scope. You don't have to go that far in your accessorizing, but you will want to add better parts as time goes by. I think that 6" Dob should be within your price range, and comes with a couple of decent Plossl eps. That will get you started.