Eyepieces for Improving Deep sky observation

Hi All,

I am relatively new to astronomy and was hoping I might be able to get some advice on eye pieces to help improve my viewing experience.

I've looked through a number of informative posts regarding this but am still not 100% sure of my next step.

I have a sky watcher 150mm (750mm tube) with 10mm, 20mm and 2 x barlow (That all came with the scope).

I'm looking to purchase a new eyepiece on a budget (£30 - £60) and have an idea a plossl would be a good choice but I'm not sure what size to go for.

I've looked through a number of scopes and am sure I can get a better view when Observing for example the ring nebula.

With 10mm it was smaller than anticipated and with the barlow on top of that (I think the atmoshere seemed to be causing a lot of problems) I was seeing nothing.

Should my next eyepiece be something like a 4mm, a 7mm or a 14mm with a barlow?

Also, would a wider angle eyepiece improve viewing in this circumstance or is this more down to personal choice?

From experience does the barlow seem to degrade viewing quality by much?

Any advice on a good setup and future purchase options would be much appreciated. If you've had experience with this particular scope all the better.

Many Thanks

Certainly a secondhand Televue 15mm Plossl would be a good workhorse for your scope. Giving 50x and a 1deg true field. You can barlow that too 100x for the smaller deepsky objects such as the Ring Nebula. Or for stunning views of the moon.

The Televue is a stunning quality eyepiece. Costs £75 new or £40-50 secondhand.

http://www.telescopehouse.com/acatalog/TeleVue_Plossls.html

Alternatively you could go for one of the BST Explorer 15mm eyepiece. Will still work very well in the F5 150 Explorer. Gives a larger true field for the same power compared to the Televue. And can be bought for £40.

http://www.skysthelimit.org.uk/telescope%20eyepieces.html