Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M13 - My First Ever DSO Image

steve2310

Hi all,

Well, after what seems an age of research and study I have finally managed to take my first DSO pic.

I am extremely new to SGL and astronomy and was "one of them" that discovered astronomy and astrophotography as a result of the "Stargazing Live" programs back in November.

Since then I have trawled the internet for various types of information regarding telescopes, DSLRS, mounts, eyepieces, guiding, software, processing etc etc!!!

I have spent hours reading this forum as the learning curve for astronomy and especially astrophotography is very very steep. But many thanks to those who have offered the time and advice the last few months.

Anyway, here is my first DSO - M13!! Prior to imaging M13 I had spent many nights collecting subs of M101 but just had to give up as I just couldn't seem to get it right (but that's another story!)

Serves me right for trying to image possibly the faintest object out there :)

This is image was taken with a modded Canon 550d, Equinox 120ed with flattener/reducer, CLS EOD Clip, NEQ6 Pro, LVI Smartguider @ approx 4 hours of 3 min subs, stacked in ImagesPlus, and processed in AP CS3.

I spent a long time trying not to overprocess the image but not sure I have been completely successful. I will attempt another process later in the week as I am still unsure as to the amount of colour displayed around the core and to be honest, I am still learning!!

To be honest I had real difficulty trying to balance the colour correctly but I think this might be to do with correctly setting the white balance when imaging the object. Not sure, but I believe I need to set a custom wb in the modded 550d?

Enough of the rambling - here's the pic. Please be gentle with me but any advice or thoughts would be really welcome!

Regards,

Steve

post-23836-13387761813_thumb.jpg

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Thelonious