Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SPC880NC (SPC900NC)

Hi,

I've seen a number of placed selling versions of the Phillips SPC880NC for webcam astro imaging. These range from the standard 880NC to those flashed to the 900NC and ones with modded cases (including fans) and the prices vary accordingly.

I've found this 880NC conversion guide, so have an idea of what is involved - not sure I'm up for attempting this, even it if doesn't sound too techy: www.boltonastro.org.uk/Members_Area/Projects/spc880conversion.pdf

The thing is being a newbie, I don't really have anything (or the experience) to judge these prices. So what is a reasonable price for the cams that have already been modded. I can find these on eBay

£63 (inc postage) Philips SPC900NC Webcam Astrophotography Setup | eBay UK

Or this full mod, case & fan at £101 (inc postage) - Looks good, but seems expensive (but for all I know it's perfectly reasonable!) SPC900 Astronomy Modified Camera, Long Exposure, AmpOff on eBay (end time 10-Jun-11 00:38:55 BST)

Anybody know where best to get these cams from? To start with I'm looking at some planetary imaging, but will want it to do long exposure stuff later.

Cheers

Al

This is where most folks bought the SPC880NC from:

Buy Philips SPC880 webcam at Morgan Computers

This is in its unmodified form, so will require flashing to a SPC900NC (free and not too difficult) and adding a 1.25" nosepiece. Total cost approx £25-30.

I personally wouldn't bother with the long exposure mod unless you plan to use it as a guide cam. Definitely wouldn't bother using it as a deepsky imager. Much better off trying your luck on Ebay for a cheap Canon 300D and £101 would definitely get you started with a DSLR.

The unmodded cam is great for planetary/lunar imaging though.

Yes, great as a planetary/lunar imager....still have one. But complete rubbish as deepsky imaging camera. And that was verdict back in 2003 as well.