Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Explorer 200p

Hiya all. I'm new to SGL. I'm think I've made my mind up to buy a SW 200p (as my first scope) I'm stuck on which mount to go for. EQ5 or HEQ5. I dont fully understand what 'syntrek' or 'synscan' is. I dont fully understand what GOTO entails either.

I'm definately in love with astronomy and have been for a long long time...but I dont know if it will pan out into astrography too. So need advice on which mounts to get and what exactly they all do :D

I dont fully grasp the concept collimation,. And tracking too and whether i would need it right away or not.

PS: what r the benefits of a SW00PDS as opposed to SW200p?

Hi,

I'm sure the more experienced folk here will have a better view, but we bought a 200p on an EQ5 mount and we've been very happy with it.

We bought the standard mount without any tracking, but have just ordered the Synscan upgrade, which I understand will give us full GOTO capability, with drives on the RA and Dec axes and the computer controller. I'm hoping this will enable better long exposure deep sky photos.

I think Syntrak is just an RA drive, which keeps you up with the sidereal motion of the stars (well, earth) but doesn't do full GOTO.

Hope that helps,

Dan

PS: what r the benefits of a SW00PDS as opposed to SW200p?

Hi

The P means 'Parabolic' which refers to the shape of the main mirror. Parabolic should be better than spherical which is probably why Skywatcher is nice enough to draw our attententions to this fact.

DS means the scope is fitted with a Dual Speed focuser which should make focusing easier - which is also why the PDS is somewhat pricier than the 'regular' 200P.

EDIT - The heq5 is a somewhat stronger mount than the eq5 and should therefore be better suited for astrophotos. But surely the photo guys have much more info on this.