Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

C9.25 or C11 on an NEQ6 Pro Synscan?? Help/Advice Please

KE400

Hi

I'm currently thinking of taking the plunge and buying more kit! I would like to image planetary and view anything else I can really, so I'm thinking of either a C9.25 or the xtra apo of the C11. Both would be on an NEQ6 Pro Synscan mount.

Any advice/input/views would be very welcome as I know that there are a few of you peeps owning such said kit.

Thanks for viewing :eek:

Hi Kev,

Good luck with whichever one you decide on. For what it's worth (and I'm no expert), I hear the C9.25 might be the better value of the two in terms of viewing (not necessarily AP) if only because the conditions necessary to make use of the extra aperture on the C11 occur few & far between in this country.

I believe both are superb for planetary & lunar viewing, but for AP, I'll leave others to comment. I suppose it depends on what you intend to image as much as anything else. I think most people imaging DSO's would opt for a fast Newtonian Reflector or Refractor.

There's a book called "Making Every Photon Count", which sets out in very easy to follow language the kind of questions to consider before you launch into expensive purchases/mistakes for AP. Well worth a read.

Good luck and let us know how you get on.

I've been using a C9.25 with a wide Losmandy dovetail on the NEQ6pro for the last year or so for spectroscopy.

It's a great combination for me - solid as a rock and plays well...

Infact I'm so impressed, I'm currently trying to swap my 12" Lx200 for a 11" OTA to mount also on the NEQ6pro.