NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Frustration at trying to find things

I'm sure everyone here not using goto has had this or even still gets it. I was trying to find the sombrero galaxy as it's in the same portion of sky as Saturn and being a total novice Saturn is one of the things I can find with no trouble. With my netbook open showing the region on Stellarium I was instantly hopelessly lost. The reversed image I'm looking at really makes comparing what I'm seeing with the map very difficult. This morning I've just found the bit in stellarium that displays my scopes view. Somewhat belated but better late than never. Can someone please advise what figures to enter for my eyepieces to get the correct view. My scope is a 150 pl 1200mm f8 and eyepieces are 25 and 10mm. Thanks.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Have no idea what stellarium wants, would have thought that you had all the information.

Here are a few extras:

The eyepieces will have a field of view of 50-52 degrees.

The scope being 1200 will give magnifications and aparent field of views of:

25mm eyepiece = 48x, AFoV = 1.08 deg

10mm eyepiece = 120x, AFov = 0.433 deg

A 30mm eyepiece would give 1.3 degree view.

If stellarium needs more there isn't anything else I can think of as relevant.

I would hazard a guess that what stellarium shows is not an exact match to what you actually see. They are just a simulation at the end of the day. So don't expect too much.

well i went out with a plan to see 3 messiers and didnt see any of the planned ones.... im pretty sure i saw m57 though it was pretty faint but defo was bigger than a star and in the right area

sky was too dark and too many stars (intense trying to align the finder) its a good problem to have... my technique atm consists of point in the general direction (i know where they are its just getting the scope on target) and slowly sweep the sky until i find something that isnt a star heh

Hello 1 of 5.