Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Nexstar 6se - what kind of pics can I take?

Hi all. Newbie here! Have just ordered the nexstar 6se with some adaptors for my canon DSLR. It's mainly for visual stuff but I'll want to try a few pics. I am aware the it's just an AZ mount so is clearly not for complex imaging but I've been told I can get some sort of photos. Could anyone kindly let me know what kind of pics I'd be able to take and whether I need a stacking programme? If so, can you recommend one for an iMac? Thanks for any words of wisdom!!

Cheers, Matt

Hi Matt

You're right about the scope, but you sound similar to me.

Odd pic now and then.

Here's a couple I've taken. Both with my EOS 40D with t-adaptor fitted and using my stripped down astro engineering barlow ( no lens)

The moon and M42, but you'll see by the noise that you can't compete with the fast scopes and better tracking. Well not without practice (perhaps I'm putting myself down a bit there ?)

But the latter is just a 40 second prime long exposure straight out of the camera. So the light IS there to be captured :)

Anyway see what you think

moon1a.jpg

IMG_3028.jpg

Neil

Did you use any computer jiggery-pokery for your image of M42

It was shot in RAW format and upped the exposure and clarity before opening in photoshop.

I used a remote lead on the 40D to ensure I didn't move the camera (and scope) during the exposure. It has a locking switch so I can just count how long to leave it.

Camera was set to ISO 800 (ISO 1600 for focusing) and I set programing to manual with "bulb" for the shutter.

You can use "live view" on the LCD at the back of the camera, but you'll struggle to focus without any bright stars in your field of view.

So I basically filled up a 4Gb card and did fine adjustments on focus each time.

I had a good Auto 2 Star alignment to start, so tracking was pretty good.