Narrowband

PHD Guiding--->laptop to mount connection help

Would i be correct in thinking that i only need a cable to connect between a USB port on my laptop and the Auto Guider port on my neq6 pro mount to have everything up and running using PHD?

Can anyone please tell me which cable it is i would require:)

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sorry but im not a guiding expert (not yet anyway) you'll need a a guide camera with an st4 port on it, along with a st4 cable to connect in between the camera & the st4 port on the mount.

Also the on the reverse of the guide camera there should be a usb port, you connect the usb lead from the camera to usb port on the laptop. Sorry it sounds like a dummy guide.

HTH.

Nadeem.

"Sorry but im not a guiding expert"

Nadeem, thanks for trying anyway:)

To be honest, im using a webcam as a guide camera and i have this hooked up to my laptop running through the PHD guiding program, the advice i need is how i connect my lapto upto my mount.

Ive read posts on here that say use a Shoestring GPUSB Auto-Guider which connects to the laptop, then a RJ_12 cable connects from that to the mount.

Ive also read that you can just use a cable connecting PDH from the laptop to the mount..its very puzzling at times!:eek:

I use exactly those two cables RJ12 and GPUSB from shoestring for my guide cables, but I have a CG5 GT mount.

If no-one comes up with the answer you should be able to google it, or ask the manufacturers of your neq6 pro mount what you need.

Carole