Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Imaging the SUN

Hi all

Total novice here, I seem to have purchased all the components that I thought I would need, I have a good solar filter, a good scope, a good camera and software (so I am told) this all allows me to catch the sun and view it live on my laptop or TV screen (depending on where I am) I have some good filters which I would like to learn how to use but my BIG QUESTION is how do I keep the Sun in my field of vision (FOV might be the correct abbreviation) my scope has all the bells and whistles seemingly, but they all seem to depend on computer software that uses an embedded camera to align and track the objects, that you can then select to view. The PROBLEM is I can not ALIGN or TRACK the sun without exposing the camera lens to the full glare of the SUN. :confused:

So HOW CAN I LOCK ONTO THE SUN AND THEN TRACK IT AUTOMATICALLY?? I want to be able to take short videos which can then be broken down into individual frames and the aligned and stacked to produce a better quality picture, I have RegiStax 6.1 software that I trust will help after I have acquired the source video.

Apologies for my lack of 'language' I do hope you can translate my garble into some form of sense and offer me some options. 

Kind Regards

Andy

CELESTRON SKY PRODIGY 6sct, CANON 16mp EOS 1200D (dslr), GOOD QUALITY CUSTOM LAPTOP WITH HIGH-END GRAPHICS, INTEL i7 PROC, SMART 48TV (for viewing, due to limited vision) NUMEROUS CABLES, EYE PIECES, FILTERS, SOFTWARE, LOTS OF EQUIPMENT VERY LITTLE EXPERIENCE

Not familiar with the Sky Prodigy, but try a "pretend" alignment during the day - just let it point to the alignment stars and accept them without adjusting.

Then point at the sun and let it track, should be accurate enough to make short videos for stacking.

If you can get into the menus and find a Solar tracking rate, even better.

Michael