Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

mad idea no 14704

rowan46

I have had so many mad ideas since starting this hobby. The problem with this one is it may actually be possible. a bigger problem however is I have no engineering knowledge, tools, or aptitude.

The brief. making my nexstar mount capable of imaging dso's.

solution putting another motor and encoder on the mount so that the scope is capable of rotating round the top of the mount at an angle 90 degrees to the angle it already does thus negating field rotation. any ideas

post-17191-133877564677_thumb.jpg

Does the controller have an EQ mode though? If it doesn't then it will still track as though it is an Alt./Az mount so movement will be in RA and DEC and it will all go horribly wrong! On the other hand, if it does have an EQ mode then the wedge would be a great idea.

I know this earl but i need something portable that I can carry, trolleys make too much noise at 2 in the morning so i need to be able to walk it to my darker site My back garden is impossible but cheers for the advice

Meade do a field de-rotator... At a nice price. :(

I did some tests with my Ioptron Alt-Az. I think DeepSkyStacker WAS doing the de-rotate in software OK-ishly? But I sense that the mount movement works best for visual observation, and is a tad "irregular" - Either in the hardware or software? Upshot was, I bought an HEQ5. More expense. <sigh> :)

I presume, the success of, adding a WEDGE. depends on the ability of the mount's Azimuth axis to function (friction-wise?) outside the horizontal plane. I understand that even e.g. "Giro" type mounts struggle...