SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

The Correct Scope To Use For Astro Photography

G2EWS

Hi All,

Sorry to put another thread up asking almost the same question but if this forum is anything like others I am on, experts in different fields stay within their own section of the forum!

I am a complete newbie with no kit at the moment. I am also an amateur photography which is what pointed me in this direction.

My requirements are portability so I can take the kit with my in my RV (motorhome). Ease of set up with auto a must - goto?

From my other thread asking for help on equipment I am being told I need to look at this as a starting point:

Appochromatic refractor

EQ6 mount

GOTO

I am currently looking at a budget in the region of £1,500 but would be happy to re visit that if I have got it wrong.

Many thanks for your help and once again I hope I am not causing problems or breaking forum rules by asking this again in another section of the forum.

Best regards

Chris

A big chunk of your budget will go into the mount - if you're looking at the NEQ6 pro synscan then £889. If you're looking at a quick setup and go, then for a scope you might look at a Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro (£356) that will leave you some change for bits and bobs - portable power supplies dew strap etc.

There is no "correct" scope as such... and as others have already pointed out the mount is the most important part of the package...

Think of the scopes as Camera lenses.. you use different camera lenses for different photographic tasks... with Astrophotography you will largely pick the scope depending on the type of target (based largely on FOV) your also going to want a scope that can provide an as uniform as possible illuminated image onto the sensor of your camera with the minimum abberation... this is fairly easily achieved with the samller sensors in the lower end CCD's , reasonable to achieve with APS-C sized sensors and challenging on full frame ones...