What's value money? And quality?

As some of you might know I'm very new to this and some of the words people are saying are totally losing me! I'm not the brightest spark going! (ha), but iv just had a little girl and now money is very tight! I don't want to pay out extreme amount on my first telescope, but iv been to my local optics (rother valley optics, Rotherham, England) and he's suggested to me that I could start with a celestron 70 or 90 but I like the look of the celestron 130eq-md??? But is it ok? I can't seem to find many reviews on google, and obviously I don't want something that I'm just going to be wanting to take back within a week!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If your limited in funds, have you thought about buying a good set of binoculars instead.

They can be doubled as an observing tool for terrestial use, astronomy & being cheaper, then buying a scope. They will give nice views of the Moon & widefield objects like Star Clusters & the Bright DSO (Deep Space Objects) like M45- The Pleiades Cluster.

Something like these for example:

Celestron - Celestron Skymaster 15x70

Cheers

Nadeem.

Hi Deneb, yes I did think about some but with them not being as sturdy as a telescope, unless I bought a stand for them, but then I'd be better off with a telescope! The celestron 130eq-md is up for sale at £159, with no Barlow lens, and only 2 eye pieces! I wouldn't want to spend much more than this as obviously from looking around on this site I'd have to buy moon and other filters, and eye pieces also looking at carry cases for when I do travel!

Don't forget if your looking to buy a reflector scope, you would also be required to buy a collimator they usually start from £20.00 - Thats a Chesire Collimator. Laser collimators are higher in price.

In a nutshell, You have to collimate the optical mirrors of the scope, so they align properly, otherwise your viewing quality will suffer.

Nadeem.