SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Primary School Help

Hi,

I am a Physics Teacher in secondary school and also a governor of my local primary school. I have recently obtained a grant to purchase a telescope for the primary school to the tune of £500......nice:hello2:!!!

It's all very well having this money to spend for some fancy new gear, however, I am struggling to come to a conclusion as to what equipment to buy.

After reading around, the best advice I seem to be seeing would be to purchase 2 or 3 good binoculars to start with but what do I do with the rest of the money???

The main aim of this is to enthuse primary school pupils (will be towards the upper end - ages 10 - 11) about science and in particular Physics.

The telescope will be mostly used for planetary / moon gazing for the majority of time as I think the wonder of viewing small fuzzy nebula may somewhat miss the mark with the little munchkins.

I could also do with a telescope which I can attach my DSLR (Canon 1000D) to so the school can have displays.

I will be taking a maximum of 2/3 children at any one time with their parents.

Will the height of the telescope on the tripod be an issue??

As the intended viewing objects will be fairly easy to spot I won't need a Go To system so the extra apeture gained from this would be beneficial.

Have spoken to a couple of telescope online stores and the ones which have been recommended are:-

Konusky 200

Explorer 200P (EQ5)

Explorer 150P (EQ3-2)

Celestron Omni XLT 150

By picking one of these would I be getting the right kit for the school??

Should I go for the cheaper one as the extra money can go towards mounts / filters / eyepieces / software?

Any help would be really appreciated cos it's doing my head in now! :o

Cheers,

Cat

I think your first decison should be whether you want to buy a single scope and mount or divide the money between two or three instruments.