Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Really noob DSLR question

Hi, I'm pretty new to astronomy in general, and er, very new to astrophotography in particular.

I'm trying to image, well anything really, through a 200mm Newt using a Canon 500D prime focus. All I am managing to do is take lots of lovely images of the Newts mirror, and nothing else.

Please can some kind soul tell me what I am likely to be doing wrong?

Thanks,

Feeling very foolish,

Black Knight

BK, which mirror are you getting shots of ? When you look through the viewfinder, what do you see.. even better activate liveview on the camera and look at the screen as you can zoom in. The moon, whilst not very high at the moment, makes an easy target to view and focus on for the next few nights (not so good when full as there's so little surface contrast). I'd suspect, that your focus position is out, so instead of focusing on the light from the mirror, you're getting the mirror instead.

Something to bear in mind, I have no experience of reflectors... having only really used refractors and a Mak.

I think john has hit the nail on the head. It sounds like you haven't achieved focus yet. I assume you have connect everything correctly? It would be good to see a pic / description of what you have got connected.

If it looks like this, then you're not in focus. If you've tried focussing all the way in and out, then you may need a barlow or some other means to get focus.

post-18563-133877464393_thumb.jpg

Have you got the 200p with the crayford focuser? If so I remove all the eyepiece adapters and connect the camera directly to the focus tube! and then I can achieve focus.

On my nikon the t-adapter fits snugly inside the focus tube then I just tighten the two thumbscrews.

If you havent got the skywatcher crayford I can't help you!