Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Looking for help in the Durham Area

I figured I might get more response if I give a location in the title and post it here.

As per another thread I have been trying for the first time to take images with my Canon EOS 10D at afocal ( I think that's the right term, camera connected directly to the telescope) anyway I have been advised that the reason I can't focus unless I use a barlow is that the main mirror may need moving.

Now as I am still new to all this and I know my Meade 6" reflector is old but I don't want to have a go at this alone. So if anyone is in the Durham area and would be willing to help me please respond to this. I am willing to travel (within reason) and I won't hold anyone responsible for any damage to my scope while looking at this issue.

Thanks for reading.

Stephen

Hi Stephen,

Try contacting Sunderland Astro Soc - Untitled Document

Have a chat and maybe go along to one of their meetings. You're unlikely to meet a friendlier more helpful bunch. Some one will know just what to do as they have a few keen astro photographers.

Dave.

Hi Stephen,

Try contacting Sunderland Astro Soc - Untitled Document

Have a chat and maybe go along to one of their meetings. You're unlikely to meet a friendlier more helpful bunch. Some one will know just what to do as they have a few keen astro photographers.

Dave.

I second that.....they are a cracking bunch of very friendly folk.

If they know the answer - soon you will know the answer.

They regulalry appear on here so I wouldn't be suprised if they are reading this and contact you soon.

Cheers for the linky. I will drop them a line when I get home form work today. I find there is only so much a book can teach, but getting together with others I find is a much better and more interesting way to learn.